Benefit concert Saturday 8th Sept 2018

Start: 7:00 pm
Admission: 6:00 pm
Bahnhof Pauli Spielbudenplatz 21-22, 20359 Hamburg
Advance sale: 9 €
Box office: 10 €
Tickets: Eventim

For the freedom of art!
For the freedom of music!
For the freedom of the people!

We sing, play and speak for Nudem Durak:

Banana Concrete
Elbe 3
David Steffen
Christoph Scheffler
SONiA disappear fear (USA)
Frollein Smilla
Claus & Susanne

Präsentation: Jörgpeter von Clarenau
Special guest: Leyla Imret

Leyla Imret was elected mayor in the city of Cizre, but was deposed by the Turkish central government. She will tell us about her encounters with Nudem Durak.

Photo from the prison

Here’s a picture Nudem sent us out of jail along with the letter we posted recently.
We blurred the faces of her fellow prisoners to protect their privacy.
But to be clear: everyone in the picture is laughing. We are very happy about that. But it’s a snapshot. That certainly is not the atmosphere that prevails in prison everyday life. That’s what she wrote in her letter.

On the back of the photo Nudem wrote: “Despite all this – laughter is nice : )”

Letter No 3 from Nudem

We received the following letter from Nudem:

Nudems letter

I greet you with love and respect with the warm heart of the peoples of the Middle East, who have been crushed by pain through history to this day.
Writing you from this my country under these difficult conditions gives me morale and motivation. That in the 21st century, in the country where I still am, in modernity, people cannot freely express their thoughts and their art means that you cannot speak of justice, law, or equality.
They might not even post this letter, that I am writing to you right now, or they may want me to censor it completely before they would pass it on. I am afraid that’s why I cannot express my feelings so easily.

Let me talk about myself for a moment: With each passing day, the conditions become more difficult, our living space is becoming narrower. Our fundamental rights, which we are legally entitled to, such as visitation, telephone, letter, etc., are prevented by the intense disciplinary punishments we receive. As if that were not enough, we are repeatedly put in solitary confinement as a punishment. You know that under these conditions, the freedom of expression is limited as well!

Everybody needs art. But I am being robbed of it extensively and excessively. I play several instruments, but I do not have one at the moment. They won’t give me one. They even took my Tef (drum), which was the last instrument in my possession. I would now have the chance to develop further artistically. I could use this process to deepen my artistic ambitions. But there is no alternative, no flexibility on this subject on the part of the (prison) management. Until recently, I still had my crayons as work material and limited painting utensils, but they took them away from me too. At the moment, I have nothing to do artistically, as you will have come to understand. I would like to end this subject with the words of a wise person: a personality that does is not touched by spiritual depth, spiritual richness, that is not influenced by music, landscape, various artistic behaviors, if these cannot be experienced by a personality, their lifelines have dried up.

I received the package you sent me. Many Thanks! It means a lot to me that you think about me. You made me happy. The sweatshirt suits me. But the shirts were too big for me. Thank you again. I wish you all the best for ever.
I send you a homemade bracelet and a picture I made with my friends. I hope you like it.

Warmly
Nudem Durak

Violence in prison

In 2017 Nudems guitar was destroyed in a nocturnal cell search. Her family was given the instrument as you can see in the picture. We can only imagine how hard it must be for Nudem to be without a guitar. That’s why we are already making plans to get her a new one!

Nudems destroyed guitar

Çiyaye me by Hanic

We’re happy to share another song for Nudem with you! Hanic from Iran sings “Çiyaye me”.

And that’s what she wrote to us:

“I wish that Nudem hear my song. Right now I’m living in the dark pieces of my life and I understand her when she said I saw a guitar in my dreams. Or when she said I followed my dreams. When I knew about this girls story I went to my office’s WC and I cried and I couldn’t control my tears. And now even I’m not in the prison but I’m living in my own darkness and I just want to sing a song that Nudem feels me. I wish that Nudem feels me because I feel Nudem in my life.” – Hanic

Thank you very much, dear Hanic!

Second letter from Nudem

Stamp of the prison administration

Dear friends:

I greet you with the pride and fire of freedom, the many colours of the flowers and the melodies and the faith in the beautiful days.

In prison, letters are the only way to contact us. No matter whether these consist only of paper and pencil and the description as a “letter” is so simple. For me it is not mediocre or ordinary. It is important and significant. I have received your loving, kind and precious letter.

Above all, it touches me that there are such sensitive and attentive people like you.
If people are thrown into jail for singing songs but these songs are still being heard outside, it means that it’s not the songs that are evil but the repressive mentality of the country they reside in. If they are disrespectful to art and the artist, then in my opinion they have no respect for anything.

Because I sang songs, they put me in prison. Because I play instruments, I was accused of “causing social activity” and therefore they confiscated my instruments. They can take everything from me, but never my language and my voice!

Knowing that such significant people like you are campaigning for me it gives me strength. For this reason, I want to thank you beautiful people very much.

So I remain with the hope that someday I can come together with such precious people like you in a free country and sing triumphant songs …

With a free soul and music notes, I greet you.

Nudem Durak

Nudems letter

Song for Nudem Durak by Elbe 3

The “Song for Nudem Durak” by David Steffen & Stefan Steffen marked the start of our campaign. On Wednesday, December 13th, Stefan and Jan aka Elbe 3 presented a new interpretation of the title at our information event in the program of the “Tatort Kurdistan Café” at the Centro Sociale in Hamburg.

Here is the live-recording – thanks a lot, Stefan and Jan!

Event at the Centro Sociale

On Wednesday, December 13th, we held an information event on Nudem Durak at the Centro Sociale in Hamburg. The “Tatort Kurdistan Café” had invited us to present our campaign.

We reported on Nudem’s fate and her current state of adhesion and played some of her songs. The slides of the lecture can be found here.

Afterwards, the music group “Elbe 3” played the song that marked the beginning of our campaign: “Song for Nudem Durak”.

“Elbe 3” playing “Song for Nudem Durak” (Photo: Tatort Kurdistan, ANF)

In another lecture we discussed the general oppression of the Kurdish culture in Turkey. The slides of the lecture including a detailed list of sources can be found here.

Lecture at the Centro Sociale

Another piece of live music followed: Claus Zimmermann presented his song “The Story of Nudem Durak”.

Song “The Story of Nudem Durak”

The event ended with some information about our campaign. We drew particular attention to our planned music event on 8 September 2018.

The money raised for Nudem Durak had a gratifying result. We would like to thank all donors!

Many thanks to the Centro Sociale, the Tatort Kurdistan Café and everyone who came to visit us!

A letter from Nudem

My dear friends and dear music friends,
I heard that you created a website about me / my story. I would like to thank you very much for your appreciation and all the effort!
I wish I could look at your site and follow you online. Unfortunately, there is no Internet in prison.
Once again my sincere thank to each one of you.
There is one thing I would like to say: I miss the music very much!
In love
Nudem Durak

Letter from Nudem with stamp of prison administration

Solidarity without borders instead of G20

The G20 summit with participants such as Erdogan was not the only event happening on Saturday in Hamburg. According to the organisers more than 76,000 people took to the streets and attended the demonstration themed “Solidarity without borders instead of G20”. Among the protesters were many Kurdish activists. We were there too and talked to many people who were interested in Nudem’s story.

Benefizkonzert Samstag 8. Sept 2018

Beginn: 19:00 Uhr
Einlass: 18:00 Uhr
Bahnhof Pauli Spielbudenplatz 21-22, 20359 Hamburg
Vorverkauf: 8,- €
Abendkasse: 10,- €
Tickets: Eventim

Für die Freiheit der Kunst!
Für die Freiheit der Musik!
Für die Freiheit der Menschen!

Wir singen, spielen und sprechen für Nudem Durak:

Banana Concrete
Elbe 3
David Steffen
Christoph Scheffler
SONiA Rutstein (USA)
Frollein Smilla
Claus & Susanne
Moderation: Jörgpeter von Clarenau
Special guest: Leyla Imret

Leyla Imret ist in der Stadt Cizre zur Bürgermeisterin gewählt, dann aber von der türkischen Zentralregierung abgesetzt worden. Sie wird uns über ihre Begegnungen mit Nudem Durak berichten.

Foto aus dem Gefängnis

Hier ist das Foto, das Nudem uns aus dem Gefängnis geschickt hat.
Die Gesichter ihrer Mitgefangenen haben wir verpixelt, um ihre Persönlichkeit zu schützen.
Man darf sich nicht täuschen: Auf dem Bild sind alle fröhlich. Das freut uns auch sehr. Aber es ist eine Momentaufnahme. Es gibt sicher nicht die Atmosphäre wieder, die im Alltag im Gefängnis vorherrscht. Das hat sie ja auch in ihrem Brief geschrieben.

Auf der Rückseite des Fotos schreibt Nudem: „Trotz alledem – Lachen ist schön : )“

Brief 3 von Nudem

Folgenden Brief haben wir von Nudem erhalten:

Nudems Brief

Ich grüße Sie mit Liebe und Hochachtung mit dem warmen Herzen der Völker des mittleren Ostens, die durch die Geschichte hindurch bis heute vom Schmerz erdrückt sind.
Ihnen aus diesem meinem Land unter diesen schwierigen Bedingungen zu schreiben, gibt mir Moral und Motivation. Dass in dem Land, in dem ich mich immer noch befinde, im 21. Jahrhundert, in der Modernität, die Menschen ihre Gedanken und ihre Kunst nicht frei ausdrücken können, bedeutet, dass man weder von Recht noch von Gesetz noch von Gleichheit sprechen kann.
Und sogar diesen Brief, den ich Ihnen gerade schreibe, werden sie vielleicht nicht hinauslassen, oder sie wollen, dass ich ihn vollständig zensiere, um ihn weiterzuleiten. Ich bedaure, dass ich deswegen meine Gefühle nicht so einfach ausdrücken kann.

Wenn ich kurz von mir spreche: Mit jedem Tag werden die Bedingungen schwieriger, unser Lebensraum enger. Unsere Grundrechte, die uns juristisch zustehen, wie Besuchsmöglichkeit, Telefon, Brief usw. werden durch die intensiven Disziplinarstrafen, die uns gegeben werden, verhindert. Als ob das nicht reicht, werden wir auch immer wieder in Einzelhaft gesteckt als Bestrafung. Dass unter diesen Bedingungen auch die Meinungsfreiheit begrenzt ist, weißt Du!

Jeder Mensch braucht Kunst. Aber ich werde ihrer umfassend und übermäßig beraubt. Ich spiele mehrere Instrumente, aber ich habe im Moment kein einziges. Sie geben mir keins. Auch mein Tef (Trommel), das ich bis zuletzt noch hatte, haben sie mir weggenommen. Während ich jetzt die Chance hätte, mich künstlerisch weiterzuentwickeln, während ich diesen Vorgang nutzen könnte, meine künstlerischen Ambitionen zu vertiefen, gibt es bei diesem Thema von Seiten der (Gefängnis-)Leitung keine Alternative, keine Flexibilität. Meine Zeichenstifte als Arbeitsmaterial und beschränkte Malutensilien hatte ich noch, aber auch die haben sie mir weggenommen. Im Moment habe ich nichts, um künstlerisch zu arbeiten, wie Du verstanden haben wirst. Ich möchte dieses Thema mit einem Wort eines weisen Menschen beenden: Eine Persönlichkeit, die keine spirituelle Tiefe, keinen spirituellen Reichtum erfährt, die nicht von einer Musik, einer Landschaft, von verschiedenen künstlerischen Verhaltensweisen beeinflusst wird, die das nicht erfahren darf, deren Lebensadern sind vertrocknet.

Die Sendung, die Sie mir geschickt haben, habe ich erhalten. Vielen Dank! Es bedeutet mir viel, dass Ihr an mich denkt. Ihr habt mich glücklich gemacht. Das Sweatshirt passt mir. Aber die Hemden waren mir zu groß. Ich danke Euch noch einmal. Ich wünsche Euch für immer alles Gute.
Ich schicke Dir ein selbstgemachtes Armband und ein Foto, das ich mit meinen Freundinnen gemacht habe. Ich hoffe, Du magst es.

Herzlich
Nudem Durak

Gewalt im Gefängnis

Im vorigen Jahr ist Nudems Gitarre bei einer nächtlichen Zelldurchsuchung vom Gefängnispersonal zerstört worden. Das Instrument ist Nudems Familie ausgehändigt worden. Hier seht ihr nun das Bild ihrer zerstörten Gitarre. Wir können uns wohl kaum vorstellen, wie schwer es für sie ohne Gitarre sein muss. Aber der Plan, ihr eine neue zukommen zu lassen, nimmt bereits Form an!

Nudems zerstörte Gitarre

Çiyaye me von Hanic

Wir freuen uns sehr, einen neuen Song für Nudem mit euch zu teilen! Hanic aus dem Iran singt „Çiyaye me“.

Und dies hat sie uns geschrieben:

„I wish that Nudem hear my song. Right now I’m living in the dark pieces of my life and I understand her when she said I saw a guitar in my dreams. Or when she said I followed my dreams. When I knew about this girls story I went to my office’s WC and I cried and I couldn’t control my tears. And now even I’m not in the prison but I’m living in my own darkness and I just want to sing a song that Nudem feels me. I wish that Nudem feels me because I feel Nudem in my life.“ – Hanic

Vielen Dank, liebe Hanic!

2. Brief von Nudem aus dem Gefängnis

Stempel der Gefängnisverwaltung

Seid gegrüßt liebe Freundinnen und Freunde:

Mit dem Stolz und dem Feuer der Freiheit, den vielen Farben der Blumen und den Melodien und dem Glauben an die schönen Tage grüße ich euch.

Im Kerker sind unsere Briefe die einzige Kontaktmöglichkeit. Egal ob diese nur aus Papier und Stift bestehen und die Bezeichnung als “Brief” doch so simpel ist, ist es für mich nichts mittelmäßiges oder gewöhnliches. Es ist wichtig und bedeutend. Ich habe euren liebevollen, freundschaftlichen und wertvollen Brief erhalten.

Vor allem rührt es mich, dass es solche sensiblen und aufmerksamen Menschen wie euch gibt …

Wenn in dem Land, in dem man sich befindet, Menschen in den Kerker geworfen werden, weil sie Lieder gesungen haben und diese Lieder trotz allem außerhalb noch gehört werden, dann bedeutet das, dass nicht die Lieder böse sind, sondern die repressive Mentalität dieses Landes. Wenn sie gegenüber der Kunst und dem Künstler respektlos sind, dann haben sie meiner Meinung nach keinen Respekt vor irgendetwas.

Weil ich Lieder gesungen habe, haben sie mich in den Kerker geworfen. Weil ich Instrumente spiele, wurde mir vorgeworfen, dass ich „soziale Aktivitäten hervorrufe“ und deshalb haben sie meine Instrumente beschlagnahmt. Das können sie mir alles nehmen, aber meine Sprache und meine Stimme niemals!!! …

Wenn solche bedeutsamen Menschen wie ihr sich für mich einsetzen, dann stärkt mich das. Aus diesem Grund bedanke ich mich sehr bei euch schönen Menschen.

So verbleibe ich, mit der Hoffnung eines Tages in einem freien Land mit solchen wertvollen Menschen wie euch zusammen zu kommen und Triumphlieder zu singen …

Mit einer freien Seele und Musiknoten grüße ich euch.

Nudem Durak

Nudems Brief

Song for Nudem Durak von Elbe 3

Der „Song for Nudem Durak“ von David Steffen & Stefan Steffen markierte den Start unserer Kampagne. Am Mittwoch, den 13. Dezember, haben Stefan und Jan alias Elbe 3 eine Neuinterpretation des Titels bei unserer Informationsveranstaltung im Programm des „Tatort Kurdistan Café“ im Centro Sociale in Hamburg vorgetragen.

Hier nun der Live-Mitschnitt – vielen Dank, Stefan und Jan!

Veranstaltung im Centro Sociale

Am Mittwoch, den 13. Dezember, haben wir im Centro Sociale in Hamburg eine Informationsveranstaltung zu Nudem Durak durchgeführt. Das „Tatort Kurdistan Café“ hatte uns eingeladen, unsere Kampagne vorzustellen.

Wir haben über Nudems Schicksal und ihre derzeitige Haftsituation berichtet und einige ihrer Lieder eingespielt. Die Folien des Vortrags findet ihr hier.

Anschließend hat die Musikgruppe „Elbe 3“ das Lied gespielt, das den Beginn unserer Kampagne bildete: „Song for Nudem Durak“.

„Elbe 3“ spielt „Song for Nudem Durak“ (Foto: Tatort Kurdistan, ANF)

In einem weiteren Vortrag haben wir die generelle Unterdrückung der kurdischen Kultur in der Türkei thematisiert. Die Folien des Vortrags einschließlich eines ausführlichen Quellenverzeichnisses gibt es hier.

Vortrag im Centro Sociale

Es folgte ein weiteres Sück Live-Musik: Claus Zimmermann hat sein Lied „The Story of Nudem Durak“ präsentiert.

Song „The Story of Nudem Durak“

Den Abschluss der Veranstaltung bildeten einige Informationen über unsere Kampagne. Insbesondere haben wir auf unsere geplante Musikveranstaltung am 8. September 2018 hingewiesen.

Die Geldsammlung für Nudem Durak hatte ein erfreuliches Ergebnis. Wir bedanken uns bei allen Spendern!

Vielen Dank an das Centro Sociale, das Tatort Kurdistan Café und alle Interessierten, die gekommen sind!

Ein Brief von Nudem

Meine lieben Freunde und liebe Musikfreunde,
Ich habe gehört dass ihr eine Internetseite über mich / mein Schicksal erstellt habt. Ich möchte mich für Eure Wertschätzung und all die Mühe von ganzem Herzen bedanken!
Ich wünschte, ich könnte mir Eure Seite anschauen und euch folgen. Leider gibt es im Kerker kein Internet.
Nochmals meinen herzlichsten Dank an jeden Einzelnen von euch.
Eins möchte ich noch sagen: ich vermisse die Musik sehr!
In liebe
Nudem Durak

Brief von Nudem mit Stempel der Gefängnisverwaltung

Grenzenlose Solidarität statt G20

Am Samstag fand in Hamburg nicht nur der G20 Gipfel mit u. a. Erdogan als Teilnehmer statt. Unter dem Motto „Grenzenlose Solidarität statt G20“ gingen laut Veranstalter 76.000 Menschen auf die Straße. Darunter viele kurdische AktivistInnen. Wir waren auch dabei und haben viele Menschen getroffen, die sich für Nudems Geschichte interessiert haben.