ARTICLE OF SARAH WHYATT

Sara Whyatt, 8 June 2015, full version at artsfreedom.org.

Turkey: Artists under pressure – a year of trials and penalties

Yesterday, Turkey’s voters headed towards the ballot boxes to place their votes in the 7 June general elections. As the election day approached, threats to the media, both veiled and overt, were in the air. This was not entirely unexpected, given that Turkey’s poor record of protection of the right to freedom of expression is well-known. What is less known is that Turkey’s artists also face harassment and censorship. Like journalists, they find themselves arrested, threatened, dismissed from their jobs and their work banned. They also have to contend with other forms of censorship, such as politically applied film certification bans and being denied essential funding. […]

Musicians as terrorists
[…] In December 2014, a young Kurdish folk singer, Nûdem Durak, went to prison to serve a heavy 10.5 year sentence under the Anti-terror Law. She was among thousands of Kurdish activists and their supporters arrested through 2009 and 2011 in what is known as the Kurdistan Communities Union (Koma Civakên Kurdistan – KCK) case. Established in 2005 by the Kurdistan Workers Party (Partiya Karkerên Kurdistan – PKK) with the aim of setting up its own political system in the Kurdish region of south east Turkey, the KCK trials have targeted Kurdish and Turkish civilians with pro-Kurdish sympathies, although many deny links with the PKK.

Durak herself was arrested in March 2010. She spent seven months in prison before being freed pending trial, which ended four years later in December 2014 with her return to prison. There she could stay for the next ten years. According to her lawyer, the only evidence against her are meetings she attended, and workshops she took part in, none of which could be seen as calling for or actually engaging in violence. Her case is similar to that of other KCK defendants, and has led to rights groups such as Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch to conclude that many among them are prisoners of conscience. […]

Comments are closed.

ARTIKEL VON SARAH WHYATT

Übersetzung eines Artikels der englischen Menschenrechtsanwältin Sara Whyatt vom 8. Juni 2015, Originalartikel bei artsfreedom.org.

Türkei: Künstler unter Druck – ein Jahr voll von Prozessen und Strafen

Gestern gingen die Wähler der Türkei an die Wahlurnen, um ihre Stimme für die 7. Juni-Wahl abzugeben. Als sich der Wahltag näherte, lagen versteckte und offene Drohungen an die Medien, in der Luft. Das war nicht ganz unerwartet, da die schlechte Bilanz der Türkei in Bezug auf das Recht auf freie Meinungsäußerung bekannt ist. Weniger bekannt ist, dass auch Künstler von Schikanen und Zensur betroffen sind. Genau wie Journalisten werden sie verhaftet, bedroht, von ihren Arbeitsplätzen entlassen und ihre Arbeit wird verboten. Auch mit anderen Formen von Zensur sind sie konfrontiert, als da sind politisch motivierte Verweigerung von Film-Zertifizierungen und Verhinderung der Finanzierung. […]

Musiker als Terroristen
[…] Im Dezember 2014 ging eine junge kurdische Sängerin, Nûdem Durak, ins Gefängnis, um eine schwere 10,5-jährige Strafe nach dem Anti-Terror-Gesetz anzutreten. Sie war eine von tausenden von kurdischen Aktivisten und Unterstützern, die zwischen 2009 und 2011 im so genannten KCK-Fall (Koma Civakên Kurdistan = Union der Gemeinschaften Kurdistans) verhaftet wurden. Die KCK ist im Jahr 2005 von der PKK (Partiya Karkerên Kurdistan = Kurdische Arbeiterpartei) mit dem Ziel gegründet worden, ein eigenes politisches System in der kurdischen Region Südosttürkei aufzubauen. Die KCK-Prozesse betrafen kurdische und türkische Zivilisten mit pro-kurdischen Sympathien, obwohl viele von ihnen jeglichen Kontakt mit der PKK bestritten haben.

Durak selbst wurde im März 2010 verhaftet. Sie verbrachte sieben Monate im Gefängnis, bevor sie bis zur Verhandlung freigelassen wurde. Diese endete vier Jahre später, im Dezember 2014, mit ihrer Rückkehr ins Gefängnis. Es kann sein, dass sie für die nächsten zehn Jahre dort bleiben muss. Nach ihrem Anwalt sind die einzigen Beweise gegen sie Treffen und Workshops, an denen sie teilnahm, von denen keiner als Teilnahme an Gewalttaten interpretiert werden kann. Ihr Fall ähnelt den Fällen von anderen KCK-Angeklagten und hat Gruppen wie Amnesty International und Human Rights Watch völlig zu Recht zu der Schlussfolgerung veranlasst, dass viele der Häftlinge politische Gefangene sind. […]

Comments are closed.