UN COMMISSIONER FOR HUMAN RIGHTS

UN concerned about horror reports from Turkey

According to the UN, the UN got reports that more than 100 people have been burned alive in the city of Cizre in the south-eastern Turkish area. According to UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Said Raad al-Hussein, on Tuesday in Geneva, reports from witnesses are extremely worrying. The victims of the fire would therefore have stayed in the cellars of three buildings surrounded by security forces.

UN-Kommissar_für_Menschenrechte
UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Said Raad al-Hussein

Al-Hussein called on the Turkish government to pursue allegations of the massive use of force against civilians in the Kurdish-inhabited region and to conduct a thorough investigation. So far, Ankara has ignored requests from the UN to obtain first-hand information on the ground.

The UN refers to witnesses of military operations against the forbidden Kurdish Workers’ Party (PKK) from mid-December to the lifting of an opening block in Cizre on 1 March. The government must also spare civilians in anti-terrorism operations and respect international law, which prohibits extrajudicial killings, torture and the targeted destruction of property.

Source: n24_logo 10.05.2016

 

Report of an eyewitness in Cizre 1

Report of an eyewitness in Cizre 2

Report of an eyewitness in Cizre 3

Report of an eyewitness in Cizre 4

Comments are closed.

UN-KOMMISSAR FÜR MENSCHENRECHTE

UN besorgt über Gräuelberichte aus der Türkei

Die UN verfügen nach eigenen Angaben über Berichte, wonach in der südosttürkischen Stadt Cizre bei Operationen von Sicherheitskräften mehr als 100 Menschen bei lebendigem Leib verbrannt sein sollen. Entsprechende Schilderungen von Zeugen seien äußerst besorgniserregend, erklärte der UN-Hochkommissar für Menschenrechte, Said Raad al-Hussein, am Dienstag in Genf. Die Opfer des Feuers hätten sich demnach in den Kellern von drei Gebäuden aufgehalten, die von Sicherheitskräften umstellt gewesen seien.

UN-Kommissar_für_Menschenrechte
UN-Hochkommissar für Menschenrechte, Said Raad al-Hussein

Al-Hussein rief die türkische Regierung auf, Vorwürfen über massive Gewaltanwendung auch gegen Zivilisten in der von Kurden bewohnten Region endlich nachzugehen und eine gründliche Untersuchung zu veranlassen. Bislang habe Ankara Bitten der UN ignoriert, vor Ort Informationen aus erster Hand einholen zu dürfen.

Die UN beziehen sich auf Angaben von Zeugen über Militäreinsätze gegen die verbotene Kurdische Arbeiterpartei PKK von Mitte Dezember bis zur Aufhebung einer Ausgangssperre in Cizre am 1. März. Die Regierung müsse auch bei Anti-Terror-Einsätzen Zivilisten verschonen und das internationale Recht respektieren, das außergerichtliche Tötungen, Folter und die gezielte Zerstörung von Eigentum verbiete.

Quelle: n24_logo 10.05.2016

 

Augenzeugenbericht Cizre 1

Augenzeugenbericht Cizre 2

Augenzeugenbericht Cizre 3

Augenzeugenbericht Cizre 4

Comments are closed.